Scamming the Scammers #7: Not scammers?

Untitled

I didn’t reply to the email below, this was the final correspondence I had with the ‘scammers’. I didn’t figure out for sure if they were scammers or employees working for Amazon KDP, however, the email below seems to be fairly conclusive. I’ll leave it up to all of you to decide. In any case, if it is actually Amazon, perhaps this will serve as a lesson to them to not spam customers with mass emails if they not entirely sure as to whether or not they will be relevant. In this instance, they were not. I have never published anything with Amazon Kindle, and while I do have an account, I have never used it.

This was fun and I hope you all gained some enjoyment from it, as well as, the previous emails I have received from actual scam artists. We may return to this series in the future if I do receive any spam email that manages to infiltrate my email. However, just like ‘Grappler’s Choice’, this series will be on indefinite hiatus.

I am not sure what is next for this blog, or if anyone actually reads it all (do people even read blogs anymore?) but I will continue to post entries here and there if anything interesting in my life is worth writing about.

Thanks for reading

– Christian Reeve


Hello Tyrian,

I appreciate you getting back to us.

You are speaking with Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP). A division of Amazon. We provide a platform for authors and publishers alike, to make their work accessible to the world.

In most cases, our members contact us from their account or from an email address associated with their account. If they do either of the two, we can then see exactly what is going on and whether or not they have books published. Now, because you have contacted us from an unknown source, our systems cannot verify who you and therefore, renders no results hence the reason for us asking you to provide us with your account information.

Furthermore, the email you received about Singapore tax withholding information was a mass email which we sent to all who possess an account with Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP). This email was to let you know that “IF” you are considering publishing a book and making it available within our Amazon Indian Marketplace, that you will incur a 10% withholding rate on any royalties you make for books sold there.

I assure you that we are who we say we are Tyrian.

If you have any further questions, let us know.

I wish you a good day further.

………………………………………………………
Did I solve your problem?

If yes, please click here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/survey?p=A3MWV7357RALQG&k=hy

If no, please click here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/survey?p=A3MWV7357RALQG&k=hn


 

Leave a Reply

