RIP Nick Menza

Ok this year has completely sucked in terms of all the celebrities and musicians we have lost this year (Alan Rickman , Lemmy, Prince, David Bowie to name a few) and I woke up to the news today that Nick Menza (former drummer for Megadeth) had passed away.

Normally I have posted social media statuses with a little personal message regarding the aforementioned people, but this one was particularly personal for me. I remember the first time I ever listened to Megadeth. I was 11-12 years old and had just heard Linkin Park’s ‘Hybrid Theory’ album, I was so excited by this new sound and had never heard anything like it. This was the first time I had heard metal music, and I absolutely loved it.

Not long after I began raiding my mum’s cd collection, trying to find anything remotely similar, this is when I found classics such as Metallica’s ‘Black’ album & ‘And Justice For All’ , along with a Motorhead album, Nirvana’s ‘Nevermind’ & ‘In Utero’ albums and the absolute legend ‘Jimi Hendrix’ with a compilation of his greatest hits.

I was so hooked on metal and rock and just wanted to find as much as I possibly could. The next possible opportunity I had I went to a HMV store and started scanning their ‘Metal’ section, I had no idea what to look for or what I wanted, I guess I just wanted something that looked cool, this is when I came across Megadeth’s ‘So Far…So Good…So What’ album and ‘Rust In Peace’. I loved the former, but the latter truly stood out for me. The cover stood out and it looked awesome!

Rust In Peace began my love affair with Megadeth, which has carried through with me straight into adulthood. Rust In Peace was a perfect album in every way, killer guitar riffs, awesome vocals and drumming that was so creative and technical, it was like nothing I had ever heard before. The drums weren’t just there to make everything loud and heavy, they existed to complement and often at times, outshined everything. This album was a masterclass in metal music, feeling often at times like the drums, guitars and bass were all competing with each other.

Gradually over the years, I collected all of Megadeth’s albums, but the standout albums for me were with Nick Menza on drums, his drumming for me, is one of the best things about listening to a Megadeth record. Just like many fans, I always wanted to see a reunion of the Rust In Peace era line up, though sadly this something we will never see.

I am very saddened to hear of this huge loss to the metal world and music world. My condolences go out to his family, his friends and his band members in Megadeth. Though this is a sad day, try to remember him in the best possible way, crank up Rust In Peace and blow yourself away, just like he did to us all those years ago.

RIP Nick Menza

– Christian Reeve

Leave a Reply

