Happy New Year! (Not Your Conventional Message)

‘Happy New Year! (Not Your Conventional Message)’

Hello everyone, I hope you had a wonderful new year celebration!

I wasn’t planning on writing a blog regarding new year, but I thought it might be strange not to address it in some way. So…2016 huh? to be perfectly honest, it’s just another year, people act as though everything suddenly changes when that clock strikes into the new year, but it really doesn’t. You can make changes at any point in time, you don’t need to wait for a new year to be ushered in before deciding to make the change.

People are just afraid, fearful of taking risks, caring what people might think and are too scared to do what they really want to do. People are also very lazy too, how many times do you say to yourself ”maybe later” or ”I’ll do it tomorrow”? What if there is no tomorrow?

Haha, this wasn’t meant to be a depressing blog by any means, call it a wake up call. To myself and to you. Start doing things for yourself, it’s not selfish to think about what’s best for you and make it happen. You need to take care of yourself before you can take care of others. Essentially what I’m saying is, you have to make the changes you want to happen. You can’t keep waiting, you’ve just got to do it, do it now. Stop holding yourself back, what are you waiting for?

Now it sounds like a motivational advertisement haha! In any case, I guess I’ve realised a lot lately about not being afraid and just being who I really am, instead of being what people expect me to be. There is great power in rising above fear…

So yeah, there’s a few things I’ve learnt that you might wish to take with you, or not!, it’s your choice and that’s the best part.

Oh and on a completely unrelated note, my girlfriend suggested for me to watch two movies recently and I have to give them a mention here because they are truly incredible! (She’s always spot on with good movies, she is literally amazing :D)

The first one is ‘Love In The Afternoon’, an Audrey Hepburn movie from 1957. It’s absolutely fantastic!, the humour and sarcasticness of the characters is brilliant, they really make the film very entertaining, but above all else, if you’re looking for a romantic film that makes you all warm inside, this one definitely will!

The second one everyone is probably already familiar with. ‘Lucy’ was released in 2014, starring Scarlett Johansson. I was enthralled by this movie, it really makes you question everything and put it all into perspective. It’s less a movie and more a life lesson. I have so much to say about it, but hey if you want movie reviews I guess you’ll just Google it, you don’t need me for that haha!

And to wrap it all up, I will do my very best to keep this blog updated as much as I can throughout the year, so if anyone is reading, let me know what you think. If you have suggestions for things you like to read about or things you might want me to write about, send me a message!, I’d love to hear from you.

All the best with your new year.

– Christian Reeve

 

Leave a Reply

